Acknowledgments and Appreciation

A project of the scope and detail of the Health Literacy Specialist Certificate requires the dedication and effort of many people. We’re likely to miss a few folks, but our heartfelt thanks to all who contributed to this project. 

First and foremost, our deep gratitude to Jann Keenan EdS, who served as Editor-in-Chief and Curriculum Coordinator for Subject Matter Experts and Writers. Jann spent countless hours and surmounted myriad obstacles to create something profound that truly serves as the capstone to a phenomenal career in health literacy. Jann, we know you infused your knowledge and experience into this project, and I’m sure you left bits of your heart and soul on it during its creation. We, and the health literacy community, thank you for that. 

Following are those individuals who served as subject matter experts (SMEs) and editors of each section. They each shared their expertise to make sure the Health Literacy Specialist Certificate represented the best and most current information in each area. We thank them for their contributions: 

  • Wilma Alvarado-Little, MA, MSW
  • Dr. Mary-Ann Abrams, MD, MPH
  • Cynthia Baur, PhD
  • Dr. Cliff Coleman, MD, MPH
  • Joy Deupree, PhD, APRN, WHNP-BC, FAAN
  • Stan Hudson, MA
  • Jann Keenan, EdS
  • Janet Ohene-Frempong, MS
  • Rachel Pryzby, MPH, CHES
  • Audrey Riffenburgh, PhD
  • Stacy Robison, MPH, MCHES
  • Chris Trudeau, JD

Also, thank you to the countless SMEs who lent their expertise during the development phase – Peer Review, Item Writing and Review, and Standard Setting. Over 50 individuals spent countless hours reviewing the content, writing and editing the exam questions and distractors, and establishing the passing score. Many met synchronously via Zoom to perform tasks that are typically done in person. Although there are too many to name, they represent diverse backgrounds, professions, and geography.

And last, but not least, all the writers, copy editors, and instructional design professionals who helped manifest this project into the modules you see here now.

Main Editor: Julia Wittner, MA

Final Proofreader: David A. Kelly, MEd


  • Glenna Bailey, MA
  • Jann Keenan, EdS
  • Andrea Mongler, MPH
  • Rachel Pryzby, MPH, CHES
  • Becca Rothchild, MPA
  • Laura Scheuer Sutton, MA
  • Rebecca Swartz
  • Chris Trudeau, JD
  • Julia Wittner, MA

If we missed listing you, please send a note to Thank you all again.